Running to Stand Still.

Photo by Paulo Payumo

Photo by Paulo Payumo

If you’re the kind of person who prefers freedom to security, who feels more comfortable in a small room than a large one and who finds that happiness comes from matching your wants to your needs, then running to stand still isn’t where your joy lies. – Pico Iyer on The Joy of Less

Taken from the inside of a beautiful mosque–taken as I am with Islam and all of the peace its prayers afford me. The words of Iyer again–he is my spiritual guide, I tell you.

Read this powerful line twice over to be sure that it had moved me, that it had been written purposefully–I think it so, Hamlet.

Running to stand still isn’t where my joy lies.

One thought on “Running to Stand Still.

Leave a Reply

