Savoring the Word.

Journey with Manong.I have to tell you about this trip I made last month with a dear friend and superb storyteller. Maybe soon?

Thinking of him a few days after joining a mass movement to protest against corruption in the Philippines. He is on my mind, naturally, because his words–those I heard directly and those I had the pleasure of pondering over and over again through his books–have led me here. The entire Rosales saga, the short stories, the essays, the brief history lectures in his study–Hay, Manong. How can I ever repay you for helping me emerge with a voice?

There are certain moments in life when things are clear the way skies are blue and cloudless, you know? When you hit one of those times, savor it a bit because the tides can change so quickly–sometimes you don’t even notice the bigger movements being set in motion.

 

 

One thought on “Savoring the Word.

Leave a Reply

