Work and Why You Must Travel–Every Day.

[But] The 8-hour workday is too profitable for big business, not because of the amount of work people get done in eight hours (the average office worker gets less than three hours of actual work done in 8 hours) but because it makes for such a purchase-happy public. Keeping free time scarce means people pay a lot more for convenience, gratification, and any other relief they can buy. It keeps them watching television, and its commercials. It keeps them unambitious outside of work.

We’ve been led into a culture that has been engineered to leave us tired, hungry for indulgence, willing to pay a lot for convenience and entertainment, and most importantly, vaguely dissatisfied with our lives so that we continue wanting things we don’t have. We buy so much because it always seems like something is still missing. – Your Lifestyle Has Already Been Designed: An article by David of Raptitude. 

Remember how, a few posts back, I talked about work and resignations and all that? Well, I’m still uncomfortable looking at this decision as just an excuse to travel/live differently. Not that there’s anything wrong with that but after much work done today in several locations and across different fields, I realized something that workers aren’t normally encouraged to consider…

Work can be creative even if you aren’t in a creative industry.

Perhaps it’s because my dad’s an artist? All of us chose careers that were not in line with his because my eldest sister is a lawyer, our middle sister is a doctor and I’m–wait, what am I really? Anyway, existentialism aside, I learned after reading the quote above that what I really need to do is accept that I do my work with an artist’s mind.

What this means is that, I will never thrive in a 9-5–not because I don’t respect it or the people who work best in it, but because  a lot of my ideas happen in and out of work and I’ve found that the more I’m chained to a desk, the more likely I am to lengthen coffee breaks and surf the net needlessly. In contrast to this, when I’m outside talking to people and visiting institutions, I really tend to be more conscious of possibilities and excited by the ideas we all end up exchanging.

Want to know something else? Being on the go and outside of a cubicle also pressures me into fulfilling my duties more. Something about knowing that the culmination of events I partake in daily reflects the amount of work I do just keeps me forever making to-do lists and being religious about accomplishing tasks.

Maybe this is how being driven really feels like?

As for travel, David of Raptitude is right. Like him, I tend to spend less than I normally do when travelling because i’m just more concerned with the essentials and I don’t need the perk-up of an expensive cup of tea or a meal I could otherwise have cooked or enjoyed at a much cheaper price.

Travel really gives us a sense of what matters and the more I do it, the clearer it is to me. We must always be on the road, on the go–that’s the key to a meaningful, productive life.

3 thoughts on “Work and Why You Must Travel–Every Day.

  1. Haha, this is perfect timing for me because I just got home from work with a raging headache, absolutely exhausted, stuffing my face with junk and practically unable to do the other things I really should do, like write another post, pick up my cello, and read the ton of books sitting on my desk. So ready for the land of siestas awaiting me in Spain! But, seriously, I think it’s important to acknowledge that a certain work environment doesn’t work for you and find one that does. You know, not to go on, but I was recently wondering how I define success and happiness in life. This is something we need to look at as a whole, and something that we can’t seem to answer…at least not in the consumer ridden society of America…

  2. What's wrong with cent cent says:

    The article you linked to mentions that the guy travelled the world for 9 months. He also (in summary) wants to get off work everyday at 1pm to do things like read on the beach and/or exercise because getting off at 5pm makes him eat potato chips and want to buy a car. I particularly liked the guy who agreed with him and bemoaned that he is somehow being forced to read GQ.
    I know that we can live on eggshells, tree bark and shoe leather. I also know that whenever I drink a Coke or my money ends up in someone else’s hands, it was my decision, not that of Big Business or the Man.
    Reading, exercise, and study are supposed to enhance life, not be life. As much as I love vacations and sometimes wish they could go on forever (sometimes by taking sick days on Mondays or Fridays), I’ve lived too much real life and have too many real goals to not want to get back to work, or, as you put it, “on the go”.

Leave a Reply

