May you live in interesting times.

When this line was used by Robert Kennedy in the sixties, it was more of a declaration than anything. “We live in interesting times.”

Ten days ago or so, I turned 24 and wondered if I felt this way about it all–but truthfully, I didn’t really have the time to process feelings or come to terms with everything that was happening at the time. I was applying for work, crying over having to move out, trying to sift through insecurities, wondering why I couldn’t write…”in flux” is the state commonly associated with these here feelings and inner movements.

So how did I spend my birthday? Unlike the last twenty-three years, for sure. I woke up at five in the morning (dead-tired from my second day of work and fighting the urge to fart out all the nervous gas that accumulated from the crazy mix of anxiety and too-spicy Ramen), gooey-eyed from all that packing…I took a quick shower, hopped into the car and took the longest trip to Baguio ever. We left at six in the morning only to arrive in Baguio at four in the afternoon.

Going home has never taken so long.

Incidentally, this is really the theme of today’s post. I have been waiting for so long (three years in somewhat steady, not-as-exciting-as-I-had-hoped jobs) for a break and in most of those years I thought maybe I had either bitten off more than I could chew or been sick to think for a second that I could actually achieve my dreams…heck, if this blog is here for anything it’s really to serve its purpose as a repository–I’ve carefully chronicled every fear and anxiety that’s ever crossed my mind. I’ve even gone from knowing to forgetting then remembering dreams again. It’s all here. I’m open for the kill–but I doubt if I’d die.

SO what’s this really about? I’d say the signs that have been auspiciously linked to the times. The pictures you find below say a lot about what these past years have been like.

(My write-up is by someone who really seemed to know me better than I knew myself. That’s what happens when you veer away from the friends your age and ask those who have some wisdom about them to write this for you.)

Ask and you shall receive, yes?

There’s no better light other than morning light–strangely, when surrounded by those nearest and dearest to you, it always feels like morning. Not a bad time to get married either. (Are you taking notes, honey–I mean future husband-to-be?)

Be spectacular! Even if you’re just out to have fun with some friends in a random field…

Get lost, be found. –Make friends.

Be a pirate and do things like this girl beside me…full of heart and balls.

Stand for something even if it’s as abstract as art–integrity can be learned and practiced.

Fall in love and stay in love–against all odds.

Be silly–because you can’t quite shake it off of who you are.

All of these images mean a lot to me, as it turns out. These are huge fragments of who I am and there’s no use turning a year older without looking back at these things.

And now where am I?

Learning how to fly, of course!

(on a meta-note…wow, this image really explains so many things!)

4 thoughts on “May you live in interesting times.

    • Thank you, Arlene. As always, you make blogging exciting!🙂 Birthdays have always had that effect on me. Ever since I can remember, I’ve always had that inclination to be reflective. Doesn’t the same apply to you?

  1. It does Nash, it does! I always find every birthday an affirmation of my identity. I have a friend who greets me happy new year instead of the usual happy birthday🙂

Leave a Reply

