Page 6 of 366.

I wonder how long the Twitter folk can keep up with this “book of life” thing. In any case I’m just glad the year is being viewed like a book about to unfold.

On day six I’m pretty revved up! The past days have been physically strenuous. I’m slowly recovering from all the 2011 demons that decided to have a field-day: cough, colds, sore throat, sore eyes…where’d they all come from? Mom’s convinced that I partied too hard last year but I said, “well, so what if I did? I don’t really regret all those sleepless nights (though my body is in a state of heightened protest and I won’t blame it.)”

The plan now is to buckle down and finish things beginning with papers (always the papers) followed by applications for career development. I’m being very cautious about plans because I don’t want to jinx them. Let’s just see, job-wise, where the winds of change and capitalism take us, yes? Thomas Merton recently shook my senses awake when I read a portion of his Care of the Soul. He spoke of work and said:

Whether we do it with mindfulness and art, or whether it takes place in unmitigated unconsciousness, work affects the soul profoundly. It is full of imagination and speaks to the soul at many different levels. —- In this sense, all work is a vocation, a calling from a place that is the source of meaning and identity, the roots of which lie beyond human intention and interpretation.

It’s true isn’t it? If there’s one thing I’m really considering this year it’s being able to do soul-forming work that nourishes the spirit however zen and trite that may sound. Few people enjoy their work and even fewer get to do what they like so I shan’t waste my one opportunity to do things right. [Spoken after having been possessed by the spirit of a new year!]

But boy do the days fly! It’s the sixth already! In a quarter of an hour it will be the seventh and hoolah, another day begins! For January the line-up is as follows: Applications galore, deadlines, yoga in the mountains, another trip to the beautiful North! There’s also loads of paperwork, checking and easing of leftover bad vibes from last year…but all in all, I’m full of gratitude and excitement.  Let’s hope the optimism lasts up until the end of the year.

2 thoughts on “Page 6 of 366.

  1. Nancy says:

    Hi. The quote you use above is by Thomas Moore in his book “Care of the Soul.” I’m sure your entry of “Merton” was a typo.

    • Hello Nancy! Thank you for dropping by! Yes, that was an oversight on my end. 🙂 Thanks for pointing it out. I sometimes confuse the two Thomas’ because they are quite alike in that both are wise.

Leave a Reply

