I want so badly to believe.

Access this on Shane Lavalette's page. Just click on the image.

“This Photograph is my proof. There was that afternoon, when things were still good between us, and she embraced me, and we were so happy. It did happen. She did love me. Look see for yourself!”

This is My Proof, Duane Michals 1974

Wow, this photo floored me completely. Tumblr is a gem sometimes but anyway, I think this is all we really need for the most part. We have to feel like things happened and that we didn’t just breeze through life feeling nothing. I’m pretty sure this is also why I love history and enjoy teaching it. First, I want to learn more about it and second, it makes me feel more alive to know that other people’s stories can be my own.

We have to acknowledge that things actually happened. That at no point did we just decide to let someone else take the wheel. It’s all us and whether we were happy, sad, confused, broken or made whole, I need to know that it was real.

That’s when it becomes easier to move forward and I’m happy to move forward too. 🙂

Sorry, being cryptic but yeah. I get it now. Isn’t it great to actually understand something? And this photo, wow! That’s what I want to do all the time (not hug my lovers but that’s an option too!). It’s memory preservation at its finest.

And quoting The Postal Service, again, I want so badly to believe that there is truth and love is real.

Leave a Reply

