Feeling Free.

Today was a blur! We had to be up early and go to the inauguration of the new St. Lukes hospital. I don’t know how I feel about hospitals that look like shopping centers or malls. Of course, in this one there aren’t any boutiques but the lobby feels more like the entrance to a hotel. I can’t imagine people dying there. I’m sure even the patients who are about to leave this earth will wonder how it’s possible to die in such a wonderful looking place.

But anyway, that aside, everything was a blur because I came home at 3am yesterday. Abi, one of my most awesome girlfriends decided to come get me. She was getting her tattoo fixed. I don’t know why but something about the folks at that Katipunan tattoo parlor really put me off. And of course, seeing Abi’s tattoo made me want to cry. It was supposed to be a red sun but for some unknown reason, it became a red blotch–the cigar mark, she called it. Tonight, she’s off to get inked again. All is full of love, written on the body. Amazing.

After our visit to the tattoo parlor, we had coffee and met up with some friends. Max joined us later on and we decided that we wanted grub so we were off to Maginhawa St., in search of an affordable midnight snack. The details are a blur as well but all I remember about last night was that we made a list of 12 things we were going to work on this year. It’s an awesome list that’ll deserve a story when we complete it. For now though, let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

🙂 My night was awesome! How was yours?

It’s a Saturday where I am, the dark just settled in and I just woke up from a nap. Finally finished reading Edwidge Danticat’s novel Breath, Eyes, Memory. I don’t feel as strongly about the book itself because I don’t feel like the story grabbed me by ’em proverbial ‘balls’…but I will say that some passages and the plot really felt close to my heart. The story is about generations of Haitian women and their lives. This book became dear to me when Oprah recommended it years ago. I thought it was just another black novel which is really a poor way to judge a book but in some cases, I just had to be weary because something about the other stories Oprah recommends just doesn’t appeal to me. Anywho, I regarded it as such and let it rest peacefully on my shelf. Then one day an earthquake terrorized Haiti causing the death of thousands of people. That’s when I knew that I wanted too read this book and see for myself what kind of people these Haitians are.

They are a strong people. Free, always free.

Ou libéré? Ou libéré?

(I didn’t realize until later that their language, known to them as Creole, was clearly French plus/minus some words.)

I come from a place where breath, eyes and memory are one, a place from which you carry your past like the hair on your head. Where women return to their children as butterflies or as tears in the eyes of of the statues that their daughters pray to. My mother was as brave as stars at dawn. She too was from this place. (p.234)

-Edwidge Danticat: Breath, Eyes, Memory

Leave a Reply

