Addendum.

Mother was out today attending to her precious trees so I spent the day reading. Don’t worry, she doesn’t hate books or reading per se. She just thinks that there are important things one can do with so much daylight. I’m inclined to agree sometimes but today was book day.

Finished 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff just as the sun set. I have David to thank for this. The cover page is personalized by his father’s note and as I reread this book  about a 20-year correspondence between people who love books, I couldn’t help but find the dedication charming. Someday, someone will inherit this book and it will mean more to the owner to have known that this collection of pages had some history. It belonged to a boy whose father read it, went to the address in London and decided to keep that love of books alive.

The book is a collection of letters and there is also something to be said about being able to read letters and gain insight into people. Growing up, my sister was a fan of the Griffin & Sabine books by Nick Bantock. She took such a love for them and it was only when I found myself in her house for countless hours (for reasons I can no longer recall) that I stuck my nose into her collection and was changed forever. Nick Bantock’s art was what floored me! But I never would have appreciated it so much if not  for the way he put it together. It’s really all about form also and not just inspiration.

Just thinking about this reminds me of Scott McCloud’s book, Understanding Comics. Anton introduced me to it but I haven’t gotten the chance to fully browse through it because it’s a computer file. Anyway , there’s a passage about creating comics/art that I find very much linked to this appreciation of books that are put together “differently” as in the case of Nick Bantock. I’ll look for it then post it here next time. Just thought to mention it because it talks about the different classifications of art and how we strive to be better artists by delivering a work that encompasses all categories. But alas, I still have to find it.

🙂 Hope you’re all having a great day!

Leave a Reply

