Everyone needs some kind of guide.

Finding her was timely! First, at a bookstore where I became acquainted with her book. I couldn’t contain the giddiness I felt after reading some excerpts from her “Beginner’s Guide to Changing the World” –I knew little about Tibet then, only that the Dalai Lama came from there and was exiled. I was in high school after all and the summer had just rolled by. Then I read on and my admiration for this woman grew. She’s a wildflower who’s soft around the edges, if that’s even possible but yeah. She is.

I don’t recall why I never looked her up online. But recently, I did. I was trying to find the cover page of her book when I found her. Then she mentioned Facebook and I thought, well, why not? I added her, left a note and a few hours later, she confirmed it and left a message of her own. She’s the sweetest person and she has the best advice.

Here is Isabel Losada’s list of Ten Indispensable Things You Need to Change the World.
1. A Storage Cupboard. To put your TV in.
2. A Crazy, Wonderful, Foolish, Positive Plan.
3. Selective Deafness (complete inability to hear the word ‘No’)
4. A Coffee Addiction. (Impossible Otherwise)
5. Unconditional Love for Others. 24 / 7.
6. Deranged Friends. (See 7)
7. An irrational desire to do mad things – called ‘fundraising’ (jump out of planes, etc)
8. A Website that you made yourself and can maintain yourself.
9. An unbalanced sense of humour.
10. Persistence, Joy, Persistence, Joy, Persistence, Joy, Persistence
Joy, Persistence, Joy, Persistence, Joy, Persistence, Joy….

Read the book! She replies to emails too, btw. 🙂 I think it’s always a blessing when people we look up to have time for us. Consider me incredibly moved and inspired.

6 thoughts on “Everyone needs some kind of guide.

  1. toynbeeconvector says:

    She has down to earth advice. 🙂 It’s pretty cool. Hey, are you by any chance into making things out of recycled materials?

  2. toynbeeconvector says:

    Same here. It’s really a challenge to live sustainably but you know, I’m glad you’re into it. 🙂 I was curious about your artistic inclinations because a friend of mine showed me some dolls she made and i thought of you. They were made of recycled materials and stuffed with plastic. When I find the photo I’ll post it here. 🙂 It’s really really pretty and I think it’s the kind of thing you’d like. What keeps you busy though?

    Oh, flip through “An Awesome Book” by Dallas Clayton. YOU WILL LOVE WHAT’S INSIDE.

    It’s all free! 🙂

    • I’m busy finding myself haha, I don’t know this is like the third time I’ve tried being part of a corporate industry and it was another letdown…too bad this time I liked my jobscope. I’m job prowling to make ends meet and not ask my parents for an allowance, which after you reach 21 is embarrassing. And I plan to set up an online shop to hopefully tide me over 🙂

      I grew up with my Mum buying magazines for kids advocating a green lifestyle and being the worrywart that I am I read up on global warming, melting polar ice caps and climate change 🙂 My dream is to really not only live a sustainable lifestyle but help others too…which is a challenge now 🙂

      Does she have the steps? I’m practically a newbie at making toys though since Christmas is coming up I want to hone my skills and give out handmade presents. And recycled ones are awesome!

      • toynbeeconvector says:

        Your reply perfectly sums up all of what I’ve been trying not to hear–from a job hunting perspective, that is. Why aren’t you happy at work? Is the corporate life really what you want? I know about being 21 and not being employed…every time I ask my parents for money, I feel like a failure. 😦 I hope to find a job before my mother’s birthday in two weeks. Let me know how the job hunt goes. I’m sure the opportunities are out there waiting for us. 🙂

        Yeah, living in a time when sustainable development isn’t a choice but a necessity is quite a challenge. It’s hard to convince people to worry about polar bears and the destruction of their habitat or the fact that we may not have a home in the next thousand or so years. It’s a little depressing but I’m sure we’ll find a way to get people’s attention.

        I’m getting my friend to post photos of her dolls. 🙂 i’ll show them to you when I get them.

        Be safe!

Leave a Reply

