The optimist’s view on yesterday’s news

Noynoy is running for President and people are backing him up on account of the yellow fever that has afflicted them. They sing old songs of the revolution and wear yellow to amplify their cause. In a banner plastered outside some abandoned building in the metro, his face appears with the words “Lalaban Tayo” in white block letters. Lalaban sa ano? That’s what I want to know. It seems he woke up one day and decided, spur of the moment, to vie for the presidency with nothing more that a tag-line declaring a desire to fight some great evil out there. With only a month of persuasion and a weekend’s worth of discernment, he announces his desire to run. — Motherhood statements fuel his response to interviews and just as he says yes to the 2010 race, he comes up with a vague platform indicating a vague focus on education…How many years has he been in office? Why is that his only goal? Didn’t he pick anything up from being in the senate?

They say cynicism characterizes Noynoy’s critics and that perhaps we should learn to have faith, instead. Incidentally, I am neither cynic nor non-believer. But I’m still a critic because something’s amiss in this bid for the presidency. His mother’s advice after all was for him to finish his term as senator–there’s nothing wrong with that? Is there? The people who advised him told him: Now or never, Noy. I don’t get why though? There’s so much time and so many things left to consider. Yet, he has made his decision to run and everyone acts as if God has answered our prayers.

Being president isn’t a joke. It comes with responsibilities and certain confidence in what can be done. Everyone said Noy should be president based on his reluctance alone. I say no because I’d rather someone brave enough to say, I want this. After all, when the going gets tough, it’s usually the reluctant ones who are quick to say that they didn’t ask for this. I want someone who wants to be president and does not need an entire group of supporters to help him decide. As for his platform, I am told this is a non-issue because no one has one anyway. We aren’t big on platforms, apparently…and here we just go by affiliation and popularity. But just so we’re clear, Mr. Aquino doesn’t have one and oh, lest I forget, he’s lacking in experience, too. But we shan’t be bothered because experience and all other things necessary for governance run in his blood, anyway. He’s an Aquino after all, heir to Cory and Ninoy’s experience…so why would he need it? Erm? Right?

Lalaban Tayo–His supporters say that his greatest cause lies in being Anti-GMA. In these dire times the thought is uplifting but wait, isn’t the point of running for presidency that he could replace GMA? So, where do these anti-GMA sentiments come into play if he is to be the next president? The dragon will have already been slain and our prince charming will rule a kingdom without having any goal in mind. Ayieee! What then? The media will inevitably turn their backs on him like they are often wont to do. Just listening to the comments they make about the presidency while “reporting balanced news” makes me wonder why we need the news anyway when we can have SNN-style TV shows to discuss what’s going on? No one tells it as it is except for Cheche Lazaro and Angelo Castro. Everyone else uses TV time to make quips…I guess they all failed at stand-up comedy. But yes, the point I was making here was that eventually, when Noy gets boring and Kris can’t save him, the media will be his staunchest critic. Does anyone even remember that the reason GMA became PGMA was ’cause we ousted Estrada for being corrupt? Today, he manages to be Mr. I-will-run-and-ain’t-nobody-gonna-stop-me while his successor who had to clean up after him gets all the blame. Tsk tsk. I won’t defend GMA’s ratings in surveys (none of which real people are a part of anyway…or so it seems. Have any of you ever been part of these things?) or the newly created hole in her son’s behind following the sharp discussion he had with Mrs. Monsod, but I will say that she’s the only one being policed up there. Sayang naman, we’re on a roll so we might as well talk about everyone. I really want to see who’s clean and who isn’t. Don’t you?

But anyway, Noynoy. I really prayed that he’d decide to be senator. After all, it would have made a greater impact for him to sit down in the senate and say, “well, we all have to do our share if our country’s gonna go anywhere” but i guess he had a different speech in mind. I pity what will become of his parent’s legacies after the elections. They are after all his only saving grace…A friend and former professor of mine keeps reminding me to vote for him because he’s the best we’ve got. Part of me wants to throw up and roll-over. First, because I am being told that there is no one else and second because, he seems to be asking me to settle? God, no. My better judgment says keep at it. Don’t settle. There has to be someone who is willing and able. Someone with a plan…someone who knows what we need and can challenge us to be better. Someone who understands the goings-on in the world and knows how to put the Philippines back on the map…

And right now, that someone isn’t Noynoy.

6 thoughts on “The optimist’s view on yesterday’s news

  1. Jenn Ong says:

    I think this is one of those times when optimists and pessimists unite. I was really disappointed by his announcement[even though I expected it]—I also wanted him to remain senator and serve as an example. Naturally, the media will eat him alive once he sits on the throne…

    It all looks like a big circus show from here. šŸ˜¦

    By the way, miss you, Nash. šŸ˜€

    • toynbeeconvector says:

      JEN ONG! How are you?! Are you working na? Hay naku, there’s a reason why we got along so much in school you know…it is a circus up there. Makes for fun entertainment though. šŸ™‚

      I miss you too! Any chance we might hang out soon? šŸ™‚

      • Jenn Ong says:

        I’m free for now. Hahaha The job market sucks right now so I don’t think I’ll get a job soon—a good job anyway.

        Nash, lets run away and teach English in Japan. Ahahahahaha

        By the way, what happened to your LJ? Do you still keep an account?

    • toynbeeconvector says:

      Trixee! Will we ever meet again? šŸ˜¦

      I knew this question would pop up at some point. Honestly, I don’t know for sure. I have doubts about everyone. Actually, this post wasn’t supposed to be an anti-noy thing, you know? I wanted to slam everyone but I got tired and decided to just end the post. šŸ™‚ May candidate ka na ba? And what are you up to? Still free-lancing?

      You owe me a lot of kwento. šŸ™‚

  2. Ailen says:

    Hi, Nash! How are you? (Sorry, long-time lurker, first time posting.)

    This is a very late comment, but I just wanted to say congrats, you put it so eloquently. I was disappointed with his decision, too, and the whole theatrical thing (On Cory’s 40th day? 09-09-09? Come on.) was so… un-Cory and Ninoy. And it’s even more diappointing to hear people say that he’s the best we’ve got.

    Good to know, though, that you’re not willing to settle. That’s how we do our part. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

